Any BOM in openBoM can easily be shared with other registered openBoM users by clicking the “Share” command and using their email. But the act of sharing a BOM requires you to actually do so each time you wish to share a BOM. What if you’d like to automatically share BOMs with other openBoM users in the team? Without having to use “Share” each time? The paid Team Subscription provides a Team Admin the ability to add users to a team and give them access to team sharing of BOMs. Here’s how it works:
Team sharing and Team Admin required a paid Team Subscription. Register now if you’d like use Team Sharing.
(1) Once registered and logged in with the Team Subscription to openBoM, access the Team admin Dashboard by clicking “Team” in Administration:
(2) Once in the Team admin Dashboard, (1) click the green “+” button to add a new user and (2) enter the information requested. NOTE: Make sure Team Sharing option is clicked BEFORE you save entry if you want to enable automatic BOM sharing. Click “Save” when done. The new user will receive an email with a verification link. They need to click the verification link otherwise they will not be able to log in. And you’ll need to provide them with the password you assigned them.
(3) With the exception of BOMs created by the Team Admin, everyone with “Team Sharing” capabilities will have access each others BOM. BOMs created by the Team Admin will not be automatically shared with others in the team, i.e., Team Sharing doesn’t work for Team Admin. The Team Admin must deliberately share a BOM with others.
The following two videos provide more details of how Team Admin and Team sharing work.